Savage Legends – Clarifications

Reach, Movement & Adjacency

Moving/ranges on a diagonal equals 1.5″. Since all distances are rounded down, this does mean that a character with Pace 6 could move 5 squares straight and 1 diagonally (5 + 1.5 = 6.5, rounded to 6) as a free move.

Combat Ranges The opponent is at X and the following statements are relative to him. (For the purposes of working this out I measure from center to center, thus a normal melee range is 1″, Reach 1 = 2″, Reach 2 = 3″):

  • A and B are both adjacent. They can attack with normal melee weapons and count for a Gang Up bonus (+1). They can also be attacked for free if they withdraw.
  • C and D are not adjacent. C has a Reach 1 spear and can attack normally. If D had a Reach 1 weapon he could also attack (the range is 2.5″. Rounding down brings him into Reach 1 range). Neither contributes to a Gang Up bonus and both can withdraw safely.
  • E is not adjacent, nor is he in range of a Reach 1 weapon. If he had a Reach 2 Pike he could attack (range is 3″) normally.
  • Moving into any of the 8 squares around X would trigger First Strike if the opponent possessed that Edge.

Elderly

Yes, a character can start with a d4 in Strength and Vigor, potentially freeing up points for other Attributes.

Bear in mind that, while this Hindrance can be beneficial to a scholar type character who plans to invest in plenty of Smarts based skills, it is not necessarily good for a caster.

  • The 5 free skill points cannot be used to raise Channel since that is linked to Spirit, not Smarts.
  • A low Vigor is going to be hazardous when it comes to backlash.

Quickness

This hasn’t been raised during play, but the only time a character may cast more than one spell in a round is under the effects of quickness. A free action spell, such as deflection for a Spell Sword, still counts against this limit (the hardwired limit of only 1 type of each action per round).

Advertisements

~ by occam99 on July 3, 2014.

2 Responses to “Savage Legends – Clarifications”

  1. Can you then choose to move diagonally e.g. from E to X and thus use 3m instead of four? I would presume you would have to have enough movement to complete the move (effectively round down) so at least 2m to move one square diagonally.

  2. Moving from E to X is 3″ of movement. Remember that all actions, including movement, need to be declared at the start of your turn. So you add up all the movement you wish to take during the turn and round down.

    Example: E declares that he will move diagonally to engage X, make an attack, then move 5 squares straight “down”. His total movement for the turn is actually 6.5″, but that rounds down to 6″ and can be done without running.

    If X has First Strike it would interrupt E’s turn when he moved to engage. Once that was resolved, if E is not Shaken he can make his attack and continue his movement. If X is not shaken by the attack he will also get a free attack as E withdraws.

    Remember also that being Shaken does not prevent free actions, such as moving up to a character’s Pace.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: