Monday: Soundtrack

In an effort to get more blogging done, I’m going to try and theme some posts. Monday’s theme will be based on the things that influence what I’m developing.

I do not tend to work very well in silence. My mind wanders and I become very unproductive. Generally speaking, music is what keeps me on track. And when I’m writing for games, I like to have music that reflects the themes I’m writing for.

So what am I listening to while I work on ‘Book II: The Break of Dawn’? Only what I consider to be the best fantasy soundtrack of all time – ‘Conan the Barbarian’ by Basil Poledouris. Specifically the 2010 recording by the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorus (link below).

Regardless of what you think of the movie itself (I like it), or movie adaptations of Robert E. Howards work (hit & miss), I do not think there’s anything bad you can say about the soundtrack. I’m not a music critic, and I do not intend to review the work.

I do know, however, that this piece instantly puts me into the proper state of mind for writing my world and the stories we tell.

Soundtrack on iTunes (Original movie soundtrack version)

YouTube (City of Prague Philharmonic and Chorus):

 

~ by occam99 on April 14, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
