To prose or not to prose…

I’m sure that I suck at writing prose.

Any time I try to write flavour text or narrative for a campaign it seems to be either extremely dry and terse, or so flowery as to be unintelligible. Even worse than that is, because I’m so sure that it will be bad, I agonise over every word and phrase. So even when it is OK it has taken me six hours to write one paragraph. This is, of course, part of the reason this project is taking so long.

So, in the spirit of trying New Things, I have written the next instalment in the campaign history entirely in bite sized morsels of flavour text. It has stretched my creative muscles somewhat but I’m happy with the result so far.

Find it in the Lore pages: History – Middle Carathan: Book I

Tell you like it and want to see more. Or tell me you hate it and you’d like to kill it with fire.

~ by occam99 on March 28, 2012.

3 Responses to “To prose or not to prose…”

  1. Its good, I really like it. I think it would be great to see more…

    I am not sure if I would go for 100% flavour text in the retelling of a history. If you were to inter-space it with some more factual based text, I think it would work well.

    D

  2. I’m torn about that. On one hand I feel like I’ve written the history in a manner that it would be known by the characters, with plenty of room to write more and expand over time. There’s also a pattern, each bullet point is presented as a triptych of sorts, that may be broken or lost by the addition of normal narrative.

    On the other hand, I know the full history of the campaign world, and the reader does not. I am painfully aware that the flow of information may be compromised where I have glossed over a connection or jumped to far forward in time without explaining that that is what happened.

    There are two more ‘books’ for the Middle Carathan period. I’ll try and do them both this way and then we’ll see how it pans out after that.

  3. I look forward to reading them…
    D

Leave a Reply

 
